The Hogues of La Salle, Manitoba

October 9th marks my first year “blogiversary”. It’s been an exciting year of research, writing and “meeting” new relatives. Today’s post is about my paternal grandparents, Joseph Thomas Hogue and Marie Emma Girardin.

Thomas had been born on the 26th of February in 1879 in St. Charles, Manitoba. (Coincidentally, 26th of February is also my birthday!) His family moved to La Salle to farm around 1893. Emma was born on the 23rd of June, 1878 in Worcester, Massachusetts.  (I’ll be telling her story later.)  Her family moved to La Salle in 1895.

The 1901 Census of Canada for La Salle shows the Hogues and the Girardins next to each other.

1901; Census Place: Macdonald, Selkirk, Manitoba. Page 9, Family No: 77 Hogue, Family No: 76 Girardin

1901; Census Place: Macdonald, Selkirk, Manitoba. Page 9, Family No: 77 Hogue, Family No: 76 Girardin

Thomas and Emma were married on the 6th of April in 1907. In 1908 Thomas was appointed as a provincial constable for La Salle. They farmed, but they also built a very distinctive-looking house on rue Principale.

Photo courtesy of Louisa Hogue Dawyduk

Photo courtesy of Louisa Hogue Dawyduk

Here’s a picture of Mémère on her 95th birthday with a cake made in the shape of the La Salle house!  How cool is that.

Emma Girardin Hogue on her 95th birthday

Emma Girardin Hogue on her 95th birthday

Here’s a picture of Pépère and his sons.

Left to right: Albert, John, Aime, Tom, Raymond, Joe, Pépère

Left to right: Albert, John, Aime, Tom, Raymond, Joe, Pépère.

The Hogues and Girardins, both having large families, meant there were always lots of cousins around.  Pépère’s brother Louis had nine boys and three girls. Pépère’s sister Elizabeth and her husband Modeste Gaudry raised a family of twelve, before moving to Willow Bunch, Saskatchewan.

Thomas and Emma raised a family of eight.

Joseph (born 24th of November, 1907) married Madge Smith on the 15th of July, 1933. I don’t have a wedding picture of them, but I have this one taken in 1942.

Joe Hogue and Madge Smith

Joe Hogue and Madge Smith

Thomas, my Dad,  (born 22 Aug 1909) married Madeleine Vaillancourt on the 1st of July, 1933.  They eloped!  So no wedding photo, but here’s one of my handsome Dad

Joseph Thomas Modeste Hogue

Joseph Thomas Modeste Hogue

and my beautiful Mom!

Madeleine Vaillancourt Hogue

Madeleine Vaillancourt Hogue

Raymond (born the 2nd of September, 1910) married Jeanne Mailhot on the 1st of July, 1940.

Raymond Hogue and Jeanne Mailhot

Raymond Hogue and Jeanne Mailhot

Aime (born the 30th of January, 1912) married Louise Johns on the 28th of August, 1937. I have no wedding picture for them but I do have a picture of them taken in 1941.

Left to right: Aime (holding his daughter), Louise, Johnny, Jeanne, Raymond

Left to right: Aime (holding his daughter), Louise, Johnny, Jeanne, Raymond

Irene (born the 6th of January 1914) married Maurice Pariseau on the 15th of August, 1938.

Irene Hogue and Maurice Pariseau

Irene Hogue and Maurice Pariseau

John (born the 26th of April, 1917) married Emma Rochon on the 28th of September, 1942.

John Hogue and Emma Rochon

John Hogue and Emma Rochon

Louisa (born the 7th of August 1920) married Bill Dawyduk on the 25th of November, 1949.

Here’s a picture of Louisa and Bill’s wedding. The happy couple are flanked by my Dad and Uncle Joe.

From left to right: Tom, Bill, Louisa, Joe

From left to right: Tom, Bill, Louisa, Joe

Albert (born the 20th of October 1921) married Margaret Harding. Unfortunately I don’t have many pictures of them.

Albert Hogue with sister Louisa

Albert Hogue with sister Louisa

In 1946 Thomas and Emma moved to Vancouver, at the urging of some Gaudry relatives, but returned to Winnipeg in 1948. Mémère was very ill that year, just before I was born, and she used to tell me she had to stay around to meet me!

At one point, Thomas and Emma lived in a rooming house on Hargrave Street in downtown Winnipeg.  The Eaton’s Santa Claus Parade used to go right by the house.  I remember many occasions of joining other cousins to watch it there.

Thomas died on the 5th of February 1955 and is buried in Assumption Cemetery, Chapel Lawn Memorial Garden, Winnipeg.

from the Winnipeg Free Press, February 11, 1955

from the Winnipeg Free Press, February 11, 1955

Funeral card for Thomas Hogue

Funeral card for Thomas Hogue

Gravestone, Assumption Cemetery, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Gravestone, Assumption Cemetery, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mémère lived to be 101 and died August 28, 1979. I’ll share more of her story in later posts.

8 thoughts on “The Hogues of La Salle, Manitoba

  1. Great blog as always. Just wanted to say great going on your one year blogging. I think you have one of the better blogs and find myself reading it each time you do one. I hope you have many more years of great blogs ahead of you.

  2. Hi! I came across your blog when searching for Margaret Taylor – my great x 4 grandmother… Seems we have a connection there but also, I’m a Girardin! My great grandmother, Jeanne Vallee née Gaudry was a daughter of Modeste & Elizabeth. I have done lots of research on the Hogue side but not much on the Girardin side. Your blog has been an amazing source of information & I love reading about the new developments. Keep it up!

  3. Hi Amanda Girardin. You and I are related. Your great grandmother, Jeanne Vallee was my great aunt. She and my grandmother, Odile Lagace were sisters. Roger, Gil, Gerry, Lynn, et al were my second cousins, my dad’s (Vic Lagace) first cousins.

  4. I too think your blog is great. Thanks for all your efforts. I haven’t been reading this for very long, but sure look forward to it.

  5. THIS was the blog post I was most looking forward to, Jackie! Great job!

Leave a Reply

