The Girardins of La Salle, part 2

Albert Girardin, son of Napoleon Girardin and Onesime Allard, was born April 7, 1882. He was 14 years old when his mother died.

Girardin Albert b1882

Albert married Arthemise Lapointe on July 16, 1907, just a few months after Mémère and Pépère were married. Albert and Arthemise had 8 children, 2 of whom died young.

Albert died December 23, 1963.

Obituary of Albert Girardin from Winnipeg Free Press, December 24, 1963

Obituary of Albert Girardin from Winnipeg Free Press, December 24, 1963

Arthemise died January 1, 1967.

Obituary of Arthemise Lapointe from Winnipeg Free Press, Tuesday, January 3, 1967, page 27

Obituary of Arthemise Lapointe from Winnipeg Free Press, Tuesday, January 3, 1967, page 27

They are buried in the La Salle Cemetery, but I have somehow neglected to get a photograph of their grave. I have added that to my genealogy to-do list.

Napoleon Wilfred Girardin was born February 12, 1884.

Girardin Napoleon

He was 12 when his mother died.  1907 was a popular time for wedding for the Girardins, as Napoleon wed Virginie Hogue, daughter of Thomas Hogue, Sr. and Philomene McMillan, on November 26, 1907.  This was the 3rd Girardin-Hogue marriage in La Salle.  No wonder Dad had so many cousins there!

Napoleon and Virginie only had one child, Luc, who tragically died at the age of 10, apparently from diphtheria.

Here’s a picture I believe is of their son Luc.

Girardin Luc

Napoleon died June 17, 1946 and Virginie on November 4, 1982.

Girardin Napoleon obit1946

Hogue Virginie b1886 obit 1982

 

Napoleon, Virginie and Luc are all buried in the La Salle Cemetery.

2009 07 10_1059

 

3 thoughts on “The Girardins of La Salle, part 2

  1. Hi Jackie, I continue to enjoy your blog and all the interesting information you have been able discover. Very fascinating. I was wondering if you would mind if I posted your link for it on my facebook page. I have very few people on this page, mostly cousins and nieces and newphews which is why I set it up. They are spread out all over the place, and it is a good way to stay in touch. Most the the cousins would be the same ones that Jackie D. has on her FB, but I would really love for nieces and nephews to have access to the information. If you perfer not, I can contact them a different way. Also, I was wondering if you are using some sort of ancestry website to find information as I would love to start researching my father’s family but have no  idea where to start. Any pointers you could give me would be so appreciated. Love all the work and time you have devoted to this. Really so fascinating to me. Your cousin, Tracy

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

  2. Thank you for the update. So sad about young Luc.

Leave a Reply

