A childhood Christmas memory

My Dad was a talented home handyman.  When I was a teenager he made me a gigantic desk which I still used until a few years ago when it was damaged by some basement flooding.  I have in my “office” a fifties style bookcase (probably from a Popular Mechanics plan)  that’s crammed with genealogy and history books.  Someone else in the family has the matching desk.

But the item I remember most is the wooden giraffe he made me for the Christmas I was 4 years old.  I remember that for several weeks before Christmas, I was told NOT to venture into the basement of our house at 411 Marjorie.  Being a perfect, obedient child I did as I was told!

On Christmas Day, beside the tree (it was too big to go beneath) was a wooden giraffe that you could sit on, with a chalkboard in front. It was blue with orange spots. I was delighted, the way only a 4 year old can be.

I don’t have a picture of it, but I found this picture which is very similar.  Perhaps adding the chalkboard was Dad’s own idea.

giraffe

When I outgrew the giraffe it was passed over to some cousins.

Merry Christmas to all relatives, friends and readers who take the time to read my musings.

 

10 thoughts on “A childhood Christmas memory

  1. lovely story – aren’t you lucky to have had a blue and orange giraffe. And glad to hear you were a perfect child – I would think nothing less.
    Judi

  2. Cuuuuuuute!!!!

  3. Jackie I believe I have the desk with the hidden panel in it. Use it for my computer desk….Helen.

  4. G.W.(Tim) Robbins

    Jackie. Merry Christmas and all the best for the New Year to you and all the extended family. Enjoy your updates. Who knew tracing family roots could be so much fun and rewarding. Thanks to you I have a binder full of information.

  5. Huh! Dad only built me a little Castle! Of course you were cuter and nicer than me.

Leave a Reply

