Happy New Year Canada!

2017 is a special year for Canadian history buffs, as it marks 150 years since Confederation.  All sorts of special celebrations are planned throughout the coming year.

You can read about some of the official planned festivities here.

Check here for a database of community and volunteer projects.

Library and Archives Canada will be informing us of a daily “today-in-history vignette highlighting a significant event that shaped our society” at http://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/onthisday/Pages/introduction.aspx

As the title of blog suggests, and my posts confirm, I am fascinated with the historical and social events that surrounded the lives of our ancestors.  Whether blogging about the first Girardin ancestor, Olivier Le Tardif who was in New France by 1621 (read about him here), our Hogue ancestor James McMillan, Chief Factor with HBC, who traveled with the explorer David Thompson (read his story here), our Napoleonic soldier Jean Baptiste Bernardin, who arrived on our shores via the War of 1812 (his story is here), or the fascinating story of our Metis ancestor, Margaret/Marguerite Taylor, country wife of Sir George Simpson, and the person whose story ignited my passion for genealogy, I remain in awe of the fortitude and courage shown by our ancestors, as they built their lives in this country we call home.

As the festivities of Canada 150 unfold, I hope to share more stories that make up our history.

Happy New Year everyone!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Happy New Year Canada!

  1. I didn’t realize it was the 150th anniversary, I’m excited to follow the daily historical updates from Library and Archives, thanks! Happiest New Year! XO.

  2. zeechevalier@bcwireless.com

    Hi! Happy New Year to you too! I love your regular contributions and I share your sentiments regarding our ancestors. Zee

  3. Darlene Tucceri new DEAULT

    I love all your stories thank your valuable research, My name is Darlene Deault my 4 th
    grandfather was George Taylor and great Aunt Margret Taylor …I have been searching records for 10 years and find genealogy so fascinating…Can’t wait for your next story.

Leave a Reply

